Let’s Review! BizMentorship Session #1

“Make sure you get involved!” said every University graduate ever.

I, just like you, laughed it off, thinking I’ll never have time for that. The master plan was to work hard and get that 4.0 GPA. Thing is, that isn’t the formula for success—at all. This belief was strengthened when, this past Monday, I went to the first session of BizMentorship 2017.

bizmentorship234

Go check out their Facebook page for details!

The idea of this event was to set up first and second-year Management and Commerce students (mentees) with upper-year students (mentors) from the same program for guidance and advice. It took place on October 2 from 6 – 9 pm in IB110.

First Impressions

I was actually really intimidated by the whole event, considering the fact that members of the Undergraduate Commerce Society and Student Management Association would be there. It was going to be in a room full of so many talented and inspirational people who practically are winning at life. On top of that, I was going to have to be social! Being socially awkward is one of my many talents!

SMA

Executive Council of the Student Management Association

UCS

Executive Council of the Undergraduate Commerce Society

Expectations vs. Reality

It really wasn’t what I had imagined. First off, everyone was so much more friendly and enthusiastic than I had expected. It felt like I finally had some friends…*launches into sob story*. We played a few games at a couple of stations as ice-breakers for the mentors and mentees, which did wonders on my stress levels. Then, we had an informal networking session, with a dinner of pizza and cookies, during which we talked to the UCS and SMA team as well as the super kind mentors. Did I mention there was food?

Verdict

It felt really good going out to this event. It made me feel like I can rely on the UTM community if I’m ever struggling with school or with just life in general. Not only was it a much-needed break from my hectic school and study routine, it also gave me a chance to meet new people, learn more about my field of study and most importantly, de-stress! Stay tuned for upcoming BizMentorship 2017 sessions!

Step out of your comfort zone and outmaneuver yourself.

– A

Leave a Reply

